Header Ads

Who is Rory Burns under whom Kohli will play at Surrey?

Virat Kohli's Royal Challengers Bangalore have been knocked out of Indian Premier League (IPL) after they finished sixth in the points table. Kohli’s next assignment will be for Surrey in the English County Championship, where he will be playing under Rory Burns, a mainstay of Surrey who had crossed the 1,000-run mark every time from 2014 to 2017. He has played 96 First-Class matches scoring 6,548 runs at an average of 48.83 with 12 centuries and 35 fifties.

Kohli has so far played under MS Dhoni (for India), Rahul Dravid, Kevin Pietersen, Anil Kumble and Daniel Vettori. Burns will lead Kohli in 3 list A and 3 First-Class games. Kohli will be missing out on India’s one-off Test against Afghanistan. Ajinkya Rahane will lead India in his absence.
Kohli’s decision to play County cricket comes in wake of India’s upcoming tour of England. India are to play a 5-Test series in England, where Kohli scored 134 runs from 10 innings at a poor average of 13.40 in his only tour, in 2014.
Rory Burns

According to Surrey’s website, Burns replaced former England Test player Gareth Batty as captain of the county side before the start of the current English domestic season. Burns has scored more than 1000 runs in each of the past four seasons that he has played in the County circuit and is considered one of the most consistent performers in the side, so much so that commentators, contemporaries and Burns himself are all somewhat bemused as to how he has not got an England call-up yet.

In an interview with the London Evening Standard, Burns admitted that he is excited to captain Virat Kohli, something no one else can do these days. “I’m hoping to get him down to the beach for fish and chips…” he is quoted as saying. Apart from Kohli, Burns will also be captaining the likes of Mitchell Marsh, former South African pacer Morne Morkel, Aaron Finch and Jason Roy through the season.

Kohli will be the sixth Indian player to play for Surrey in the County championship after Zaheer Khan (2004), Harbhajan Singh (2005 and 2007), Anil Kumble (2006), Pragyan Ojha (2011) and Murali Karthik (2012).