Header Ads

Where Stands Karnataka Elections 2018 of Now

BJP's BS Yeddyurappa has won from Shikaripura even as Siddaramaiah continues to lead in Badami and trails in Chamundeshwari.

Bengaluru: Soon after the BJP surged ahead of the Congress in the leads in Karnataka election results, celebrations were seen at the party's headquarters in Bengaluru and other parts of the state. BJP workers cheered, burst crackers and chanted "Modi Modi" as they monitored the numbers of giant TV screens. A senior Congress leader and minister in Siddaramaiah's cabinet, DK Shivakumar, admitted defeat and said the numbers indicate the party is on its way out in Karnataka. For the election results, votes are being counted for 222 of the 224 assembly seats from 8 am. 72.36 per cent of the five crore eligible voters in Karnataka cast their votes on Saturday last, a notch above the 72 voter turnout recorded in the 2013 state elections. An aggregate of nine exit polls shows the BJP emerging as the largest party with 97 seats, but well short of the majority mark. The Congress will win 90 seats and regional party Janata Dal Secular or JDS 31, according to the poll of exit polls.
With the exit polls also predicting that HD Deve Gowda of the Janata Dal Secular will emerge as the kingmaker, there has been a strong buzz of post-poll negotiations even before the counting of votes begins. There is speculation that the JDS chief HD Kumaraswamy is in talks with the Congress and the BJP. Karnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah had said while he is willing to stay on as the chief minister for another term, he would step aside for a Dalit candidate if the party high command so desires. The JDS has said it is the Congress's "responsibility" to reach out if it does not get a majority today.