Header Ads

Karnataka Elections 2018

The Karnataka legislative assembly election is going on today, 12 may 2018-15may 2018, the Election Commission (EC) announced today.

The EC also said that April 24 was the last date to fill nomination & 27 was the last date for withdrawal of candidature.
Southern state is currently ruled by the Congress.
The previous assembly polls were held on May 5 in 2013 in a single phase with 2,948 candidates in the fray. The state witnessed 71.45% polling back then.
For the congress, incumbent Chief Minister Siddaramaiah remains the candidate for the top post. The BJP, meanwhile has pitched a former chief Minister, BS Yeddyurappa, as its candidate for Chief Minister.
High-decibel rhetoric and down-low mudslinging on social media have already set the tone for what is shaping to be a big fight between the incumbent Congress and the challenger, the BJP. Another significant player here is the JD (S), which is being seen as a likely kingmaker in the event of a hung assembly.
Congress President Rahul Gandhi and BJP National chief Amit Shah have already kicked off campaigning in karnataka's battleground constituencies by themselves.
This state poll will also test Congress president Rahul Gandhi's mass appeal, as it's the first Assembly elections since he took over as party chief. Rahul was made party head in the midst of elections in Gujarat in December.

For the BJP, a win will mark its entry to the South, which has held out the longest against a BJP onslaught.
Meanwhile, the ruling Congress got a bit of a boost two days ago when seven JD(S) rebel former MLAs joined the party. The rebel MLAs resigned from the Karnataka legislative assembly a day after they cross-voted in favour of the Congress candidates in the March 23 Rajya Sabha biennial election in the state.

At a meeting yesterday, the names of all 122 sitting Congress MLAs and the recently joined Independent and JD(S) rebel legislators were recommended by the Congress State Election Committee over there.

One Stop destination for all information:
•BJP is leading on almost double the seats than those of Congress in both urban and rural areas of Karnataka.

•Congress local leader DK Shivakumar is leading in his constituency Kanakapura.

In both SC and ST constituencies across Karnataka, BJP is leading on maximum seats.

Vokkaliga community of Karnataka has come out and voted for JD(S)+ in very large numbers. Trends show that the party is leading on 25 seats in the Vokkaliga, which is the dominant region of Karnataka.

Congress star candidates -- Laxmi Hebbalkar who is from Belagavi rural, and G Parameshwara who is from Koratagere -- are leading.

BJP inches close to the majority mark of 113, is now leading on 111 seats.

JD(S)+ is ahead on 27 seats in the Old Mysuru area.

In areas of Karnataka marked by an agrarian crisis, BJP and Congress are tied, each leading on 27 seats together.