Header Ads

Ronaldo clinches the 5th Ballon d’or

Cristiano Ronaldo has won the fifth Ballon d’Or of his career, equalling Lionel Messi’s record after a season that saw him lead Real Madrid to their 12th Champions League title.
At 32, when the greats like Ronaldinho, Kaka and Ronaldo Lima had already finished their career in Europe, or so to say, at the very top, here this man is winning the biggest individual prize in the world football!
The Portuguese superstar was voted the best player in the world once again - edging out Lionel Messi and Neymar. From going down by 1-4 in the Ballon d’or race against Messi to this surreal comeback to 5-5 – that is what Ronaldo has been all about. The all-time top scorer in the history of Champions League reaches the zenith of his individual honours. Ronaldo, previously won the award in 2008, 2013, 2014 and 2016.
DQdzbdrUMAEeTNM.jpg large
The Ballon d’or 2017, the 62nd edition of the prize given by France Football, was held at the iconic Eiffel Tower, Paris. Ronaldo was revealed the winner, holing the golden ball in his hand standing at the tower. Cristiano Ronaldo had 49 goals 13 assists in 56 appearances, and most importantly won 4 trophies for Real Madrid C.F. – La Liga, UEFA Champions League, Super Copa, UEFA Super Cup.
Ronaldo reacted to his winning the prestigious trophy, “I feel very happy, it’s a fantastic moment in my career, I’ve been waiting for this for a long time.

"This year has been great, we won the Champions League and La Liga and, on a personal level, I was a top scorer in the Champions League.

"Trophies help win these awards and we have to thank my colleagues from Madrid and Portugal, it was very important for me."

Lionel Messi finished second in the best player’s race with 52 goals and 14 assists in 61 appearances, while Neymar, who joined Paris St Germain in a world-record transfer deal this summer, was third.

The top ten rankers of the Ballon d’or 2017 were:
  1. Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) 2. Lionel Messi (Barcelona) 3. Neymar (Paris Saint-Germain) 4. Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus) 5. Luka Modric (Real Madrid) 6. Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid) 7. Kylian Mbappé (Paris Saint-Germain) 8. N’Golo Kanté (Chelsea) 9. Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich) 10. Harry Kane (Tottenham)

Congratulations, Cristiano Ronaldo!